Dark Imperium Starter Set: Plague Marines

I have now finished painting the Plague Marines from the Dark Imperium boxed set – forward for the fly father!

Dark Imperium Plague Marine Deathguard troops 1

Dark Imperium Plague Marine Deathguard troops 2

Dark Imperium Plague Marine Deathguard Champion

Dark Imperium Plague Marine Deathguard Malignant Plaguecaster

Dark Imperium Plague Marine Deathguard Noxious Blightbringer

Dark Imperium Plague Marine Deathguard Lord Of Contagion

Dark Imperium Plague Marine Deathguard Foetid Bloat-Drone

Dark Imperium Plague Marine Deathguard Foetid Bloat-Drone

There are some great details on these figures – I do like the new Primaris Marines, but they look positively minimalist and bland compared to the these glorious servants of Nurgle. I need to dig out my older kit-bashed Plague Marines to do some group & comparison shots – there is undoubtedly some scale creep going on compared with the old finecast Plague Marines, but my kit-bashed ones are a bit bulkier than those I think so should look too out of place alongside these new ones.

I’m still hoping for a proper multi-part Plague Marine troops kit to be launched when the proper Plague Marine Codex drops for 8th Ed. While I got quite far with chopping up my Dark Vengeance Chosen to add some variety, I think it would be harder to due justice with these guys. My other main hobby wishlist item would be some corrupted Primaris Marines (or whatever the daemonic rift infused truescale chaos marine equivalent ends up being called) – the Gal Vorbak are my favourite figures from the Horus Heresy range and I’d love something along their lines for 40k in plastic.

This entry was posted in WH40k and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dark Imperium Starter Set: Plague Marines

  1. bjorndovah says:

    I’ve got to say, these are probably the best painted Death Guard Marines I’ve seen so far from the Dark Imperium set.

    You’ve done a fantastic job, keep up the awesome work! 🙂

  2. Excellent mate. You’ve nailed these perfectly

  3. Thomas says:

    Great paint job. Toned down, gritty and very fitting. Not really a fan of the sculpts of the characters but the PMs and the drone are all really cool.

    • heretic30k says:

      Yeah – I have to agree that I find the characters a bit too fussy. The basic marines and the drone are definitely my favourites from the set. With most starter sets I’d normally consider getting two, but in this case I’m not sold on it being easy to convert the Plague Marine Characters to look much different.

  4. Gross and gorgeous! Excellent job with these guys!

Leave a Reply

