Dark Mechanicum Part 7 – Archmagos Draykavac

I am making slow, but steady progress on my Dark Mechanicum/Knight force for the London Heresy 2017 and now I have completed a keystone piece – my HQ choice: Archmagos Draykavac, Warlord of Cyclothrathe, Sovereign-Prelate of House Atrax, Bringer of Perfection.

This is the first model I have got from Forgeworld from their Horus Heresy Character range – the rest of my purchases have been simple upgrade kits or rank and file troopers. There is an amazing level of crazy gothic detail with this kit and I have decided to stick to my core policy of simply not bothering to glue on fragile, gribberly looking tendrils which are not likely to survive transport. Instead I will repurpose some the dendrites for later kit-bashing and conversion purposes. I have really enjoyed working with all of the Mechanicum Forgeworld kits so far as they are so easy to paint: lots of fine mechanical details which look good with a simple wash and dry brush.

This entry was posted in Horus Heresy 30k and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dark Mechanicum Part 7 – Archmagos Draykavac

  1. Wow!! Great models and paint work

  2. heresyofus says:

    I’ve always wanted to buy that model. I just don’t like the animal skull face so that would need to be changed. Great job though mate. Looking forward to seeing pics of the whole force.

  3. Lee says:

    I have been following your paint scheme closely and I am really in love with how it turned out on all of your Knights, I have recently started a knight army myself and wanted to go atrax but I’m a terrible painter, I know it’s asking a lot but could you possibly list the paints you used for your Knights or consider doing a guide as I know it would help many!
    Cheers

    • heretic30k says:

      Not a big ask at all – happy to help. I’d strongly recommend looking at the GW video on assembly & painting for tips as this is how I did the main frame: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njhLv_nyP_s

    • heretic30k says:

      Essentially: leave the panels off and assemble the frame. Spray undercoat with Chaos Black. With the frame paint in Leadbelcher. As per the GW video, pick out off details in Balzathar Gold. Wash all over with Nuln Oil then Agarax Earthshade. Finally dry brush with Necron compound. With the plates: sponge Skavenblight dinge highlight on the black plates. The red plates are several thin coats of Khorne Red then sponge Wazdakka Red I think. The Copper metal edging on the plates is Warplock Bronze, layer Hashut Copper, fine edge with Ironbreaker then wash with Agarax Earthshade. I find the Knights are lots of fun to do – hope that helps and good luck!

      • Lee says:

        Thanks alot thats perfect! need to pop down local games workshop to grab warplock bronze and hashut copper never used those before. thanks again.

      • heretic30k says:

        You are welcome – publish some pics! Do you play 30k regularly? Going to any UK events?

      • Lee says:

        I haven’t been to any events and only have local games with friends probably twice a month or so, usually 3k or so a side or 2v2 3k each I’ll think about posting some pics but I am not a very skilled painter and it will take me hell of a long time lol.

      • heretic30k says:

        I managed to get to two narrative events last year and one ‘kitchen’ game at home over xmas – aiming to get more play in this year as I am aiming to attend a 30k club campaign 🙂

  4. Ooh, I always liked that model. He has a cool floating pulpit as well. I’m just about to put in some serious work on my own Dark Mechanicvm force – my leader of choice is Anacharis Scoria made from the Khorne Blood Slaughterer and Belisarius Cawl.

    I really like the basing you’ve done on Draykavak, especially that brass cog.

    • heretic30k says:

      Thanks. Would love to see that Scoria kitbash- sounds awesome. I’m excited to see where they take the Dark Mechanicum in the next book – should be interesting to see the evolution.

Leave a Reply

