Plague Marine Quick Paint Colour Scheme

Wudugast of Convert Or Die asked me how I do my Plague Marine colour scheme, so here is a quick recipe:

Nurgled Marked Chaos Space Marines/Plague Marines 'The Blight Bringers'

Nurgle Plague Marine Hellbrute Dreadnought

Stage 1) Main powered armour plates:

  • Spray undercoat with GW Chaos Black (focus on the lower model/underside, no need for complete coverage of a thick coat as there are lots of layers to put down).
  • Spray overcoat with Army Painter Fur Brown (focus on the upper model)
  • In the joins/recesses and anywhere where you want the under layer to show through – dab with Vallego chipping medium and use that to ‘glue’ on rock salt. Allow plenty of drying time before the next step.
  • Overspray the whole model with Army Painter Skeleton bone and allow plenty of drying time again.
  • Dunk the model in lukewarm water, grab a tooth brush and scrub at the salt clumps to reveal the darker brown/black in the recesses.
  • Allow plenty of drying time and then pick out any recesses which still have a Skeleton Bone with a pin wash of GW Agarax Earthshade, Seraphim Sepia or Athonian Camoshade depending on your taste to add a bit of pop.

Stage 2)
‘Diseased’ skin:

  • Base coast with GW Bugman’s Glow.
  • Wash with GW Reikland Flesh.
  • Layer with GW Cadian Flesh and then drybrush with Kislev Flesh.
  • Overwash/glaze with GW Druchii Violet.

Stage 3)
Bronze Trim:

  • Base coat GW Warplock Bronze.
  • Layer with GW Hashut Copper.
  • Wash with GW Agarax Earthshade.
  • Spot recess wash with Nihilakh Oxide.
  • Edge highlight odd areas with Hashut Copper to help blend in the Nihilakh Oxide recesses.

Weapon Casing:

  • Basecoast GW Mechanicum Standard Grey.
  • Wash with GW Nuln Oil.

Weapon Metals:

  • Basecoat GW Leadbelcher.
  • Spot with GW Typhus Corrosion.
  • Over wash with with GW Agarax Earthshade.
  • Drybrush odd spots with GW Ryza Rust.

Wounds:

  • Spot with GW Blood for the Blood God and/or Nurgle’s Rot to personal taste.

Voila – then you are done! It might seem like quite a lot of steps, but it is pretty quick to do.

This entry was posted in WH40k and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Plague Marine Quick Paint Colour Scheme

  1. ejhenries says:

    Ace breakdown of your technique, it really results in an awesome finish.

    • heretic30k says:

      Thanks – I don’t own an airbrush, so the 3 colour rattle can approach to getting the base colours on is a reasonable poor man’s quick & dirty alternative. Nurgle is mercifully forgiving of my messy painting style which helps too!

      • ejhenries says:

        Haha, sounds good to me. I’ve not got an airbrush either, really tempted but I’m just not sure how I feel about them (plus I’d have no idea how to use the thing). Messy colour schemes are ace though, I used to have an Iron Warrior army and I loved going nuts on the rust effect, this was back before the texture paints, throw on some hazard stripes here and there, job done. Damn, Chaos are just awesome. Looking forward to seeing more of your work bud.

      • heretic30k says:

        Coincidentally I have been saving some leftovers from my old Chaos Space Marines, Calth set & 3rd party cybernetic bits with a view to doing some Iron Warriors. Angel Exterminartus is one of my favourite Heresy books and I really like the way Graham McNeil portrayed them. The colour scheme looks like it should be pretty easy to get something tabletop ready in quick order too which is always a plus.

      • ejhenries says:

        It was Storm of Iron that sold them to me, that book was amazing. Plus their words are boss, ‘Iron within, Iron without’. Be good to see your take on them.

      • heretic30k says:

        Will have to check Storm of Iron out. I just finished Tallarn: Executioner, but found it a bit meh – from the Imperial rather than Iron Warriors POV so wasn’t what I was expecting.

      • ejhenries says:

        I’m surprised you’ve not read Storm of Iron if you’re a McNeil fan, it’s from both the Iron Warriors, though I think it is one of his older books. In fairness I had it recommended to me, so what goes around, haha. It’s from the perspective of multiple Iron Warriors and a Guardsmen’s. Not the longest book but it portrays the Iron Warriors really well, I would definitely recommend it.

  2. Wow! Thanks for this. Great idea with the rock salt

  3. Pingback: Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Count Down: Touching up my Blight Bringer Plague Marines | Heretic 30k

Leave a Reply

