Painting ghosts

Now my 30k Warp Cult army is complete I decided to treat myself to a hobby break by trying to finish off some of the smaller projects in my back catalogue and being a bit more experimental now I am not working to a rigid deadline.

I have accumulated quite a few random undead model kits from various game systems over the last few year – mainly for conversions of my 30k Warp Cultists, 40k Chaos Marines, Mantic Deadzone Plague Zombies and a small Undead starter army from the King’s of War v2 kitstarter and so now seemed liked a good time to see if I could scrape this together and what it might be useful for.  Not enough for a proper KoW or classic Warhammer Fantasy army for sure, but plenty enough for a Frostgrave Necromancer warband with a surplus of extra leftovers for wandering monsters 🙂

I decided to make a start with some doing a test ghostly colour scheme on some Mantic Wraiths which I was intending to use as mook followers and a GW Banshee that I bought on a whim as I just liked the sculpt.  As with all my work I like to try to aim for a good tabletop standard which would be relatively quick to execute for a half dozen figures.

This is what I came up with for my tester:

  • Undercoat black.
  • Wet brush coat of Skavenblight Dinge Grey.
  • Heavy dry brush of Celestra Grey.
  • Edge light dry brush of Ulthuan Grey.
  • Wash with Nihilak Oxide.
  • Spot recess glaze with Waywatcher green.
  • Edge drybrush with Longbeard Grey.

This comes out looking like this:


I think this works quite well, looks suitably supernatural/spectral in style so now I’ll roll out to the rest of the figures and seen how they hang together as a group.  It should even be quick enough if I evr decide to scale up to a whole army too 🙂

This entry was posted in Age of Sigmar, Frostgrave, Kings of War, Warhammer Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Painting ghosts

  1. Thomas says:

    Looks plenty eerie to me. Effective paint scheme too, easier than what I did when I painted my Tomb Banshee.

Leave a Reply

